Back To National

Indian Captain received prestigious sports award

Posted on Wednesday, January 4, 2023 by ARFAI,


Mahesh Tirkey receiving the award from Honourable Finance Minister of Jharkhand

ARFAI is proud to share that our Team India Captain Mahesh Tirkey was recently honored for his excellent accomplishment and sporting achievements through Australian Rules Football by the Jharkhand state government alongside multiple Olympians and Commonwealth Games gold medallists from the state of Jharkhand, India.

The ’Ummid Foundation’ organised a grand celebration on 2nd January 2023, the occasion of 120th birth anniversary of Marang Gomke Jaipal Singh Munda. Mahesh Tirkey received the Jaipal Singh Munda Khel Ratna award 2022 from Honorable Mr. Rameshwar Oran, the Finance Minister of Jharkhand.

Jaipal Sigh Munda was an excellent sportsperson, great politician and an exemplary writer. He captained the Indian Hockey team to win the first gold medal at the 1928 Olympic Games in Amsterdam. After his sporting career, he campaigned for the rights of the indigenous community as a member of the Constituent Assembly of India. Ritesh Oraon, Founder President of the Ummid Foundation, said that through these awards, the struggle, sacrifice and life story of Marang Gomke Jaipal Singh Munda has to be taken to the masses and Marang Gomke Jaipal Singh is honoured by honouring the personalities of the soil of the state of Jharkhand. Jaipal Singh Munda was popularly known as ‘Marang Gomke’, which means ‘a great leader’.

Mahesh Tirkey who is awarded for his excellence in Australian Rules Football is a significant achievement for his efforts as a sportsman, a leader and also for his work in development of the Australian sport in Jharkhand. Additionally, it is a significant recognition for the sport of Australian Football in India and the national federation’s work to develop the sport in India. Mahesh has captained Team India at the AFL International Cup in 2017, along with representing India as the best player for the team in 2014 and 2017. Additionally, Mahesh has also led the Jharkhand state team at the ARFAI National Championship over the years to multiple champion and runner up trophies, including as the defending champions from the last national championship organised in India in January 2020 before the pandemic. Mahesh has led the development of Footy in various districts in Jharkhand.

Many other sports personnel like Sujit Munda who won the Blind Cricket T20 World Cup 2022, Shubha Laxmi Sharma who is awarded for her outstanding contribution towards women’s cricket in India and Rupa Rani Tirkey who bagged the historic gold medal for India at the Commonwealth Games 2022 for Lawn Bowl also received the Jaipal Singh Munda Ratna award.

Read more about the event here.